Review: Push Galaxy Imperial IPA

Back at Frisco’s in Columbia, MD! I’m guilty of stopping here on late nights when I’m in the area. But I’ve been coming here for about four years now; I joined their beer club in January – 2014.  I got a little book in which I record all of my beers. I even earned a T-shirt at 50! I’m working – very slowly – toward 100 beers, which will earn me my own fancy mug and the promise of all of my future beers being served in a 19oz mug instead of a pint glass. Worth it!

Push Galaxy Imperial IPA 001

Push is Frisco’s house brewery and Howard County’s first craft brewery. I’ll drink to that!

This Imperial IPA pours a dark, hazy gold color. There’s no head, but some subtle lacing inside of the glass. It sticks around as I drink the beer down. The smell is a little citrusy, which makes perfect sense because it uses Galaxy hops (a delightful Australian gift to the world), which have a great deal of grapefruit notes as part of their signature.

Push Galaxy Imperial IPA 002

It’s hoppy and slightly green with a resinous nose all around. It first hits the palate with a little brightness, but, fair warning: it has a very very dry finish. Lots of pine and resin in the back of the throat. Plenty of flavor in this beer! Pretty sure I’d order this one again in spite of the dryness (which I don’t generally go for).

Push Galaxy Imperial IPA 003

I also took advantage of this fascinating doohickey that they have: a one-off canning device. They can pour and seal any of their beers in a 32oz can, pressed right there behind the bar, and you can take it home. I’ll need to look into this soon!

Leave a Reply

