Review: Sam Adams Ginger Beer

This was brought to me by a thoughtful friend as a housewarming gift. He arrived, winter beer sampler pack in hand, and stay for an evening of board games and card games. We consumed several of those beers that night and I admit that I take absolutely no notes, so none of those got reviewed. Oops. This was one of the remainders from that night of revelry and so I pulled it out of its box in the fridge and gave it a taste.

All right. So. Real talk. This is called ginger beer. When I think of ginger beer, I think of a spicy-and-slightly-sweet soda beverage, kind of like Goslings in the ever-popular Dark and Stormy. This? This is not what this Sam Adams drink is.

This beer pours a rich, absolutely beautiful golden color, very clear. It has a fine wisp of a white head that leaves a little lacing. It has a nose like a light pilsner, I think, but with a little hint of a ginger zip to it.

Sam Adams Ginger Beer 003

Up front, there’s some gentle ginger and spice with a kind of soft heat to it. It’s sort of malty and balanced. No hops to speak of and it’s only just slightly sweet. I’d call it crisp overall. It has some more Christmassy spice taste as it warms up, but the mouthfeel thins a little as the carbonation peters out.

It’s not at all what I expected from something calling itself “ginger beer.” To me, ginger beer is a wholly different animal. There’s nothing wrong with this beer, but I wanted something else from it. I expected more flavor and got a beer that is, quite honestly, a little bit bland. I would most definitely not buy this beer again. I would, however, opt in for some extra bird cuddle from a little friend who I’m bird sitting.

Sam Adams Ginger Beer 005

 

 

Leave a Reply

