Review: Jailbreak Ryemin’ and Stealin’

What can I say? I’m a sucker for rye. I like me some rye beers and some rye whiskey (especially in a well-balanced Manhattan). There’s a spiciness that the grain adds to the beverages it goes into. It adds a kind of depth that is very appealing to my palate!

I didn’t use to like lighter beers. They scared me. I’d had an aggresively hoppy IPA early in my beer-drinking days, and it put me off them for years. Eventually, I got bold and decided to work them into my beer rotation – but I wasn’t ready to go all in yet. So I started with black IPAs and rye beers and IPAs. I couldn’t tell you what my first one was, but I know that I liked it and that it lured me back over and away from my safe zone of porters and stouts.

Jailbreak Ryemin and Stealin 002

This was another pint at my beloved Gilly’s. This beer pours a handsome ruby brown with a small, off-white head that quickly vanishes, but does leave a little lacing behind. Perhaps because it was poured pretty cold, I couldn’t really get any nose off of this beer. I was also chatting with a friend over drinks, so I didn’t spend too long huffing my beer like a total weirdo. This time.

Jailbreak Ryemin and Stealin 001

The taste of Jailbreak Ryemin’ and Stealin’ is all resin and pine and caramel malt up front. There’s that pleasant rye and spice flavor that lingers and warms the tongue. It has a slightly dry finish, but is relatively clean; it doesn’t linger overmuch. There is definitely some dry pine on the back end.

As far as rye beers go, I feel like this one is pretty balanced with a sweet enough malt backbone to hold up to the rye and pine flavors that it brings to the table.

 

 

Leave a Reply

