Review: Evolution Craft Brewing Company Lucky 7 Porter

Evolution Craft Brewing Company is based in Maryland, so I guess it’s local – but it would be about a two hours’ drive. I like a good road trip as much as anyone, but it would take a pretty special brew to get me to deal with I-95 traffic for very long. So I guess when I say that I want local beer, that I mean just a little more local than that. I’m spoiled. It’s true.

evolution-lucky-7-porter-005

Poured from a bottle (just a single, bought in a boil-your-own-six-pack setup) into a pint glass, it’s a an opaque red-brown color with a short, cream-colored head that slowly fizzles out. It does leave some nice lacing behind on the glass.

I deliberately let it warm up before drinking it because I really wanted to smell and taste it properly and really get something from it. I also warmed up my new apartment a little by watching Blues Brothers (one of my favorite movies) and by hanging my beer cap map – and, yes, I know a lot of those caps are in the wrong places; I just have too many east coast caps that are all vying for the same spots in the map.

evolution-lucky-7-porter-002

This nose on this porter is toasty, nutty, and filled with roasted malts. There’s notes of chocolate and coffee there as well. The first tastes are a bitter dark chocolate with very faint hints of sweet caramel. It’s a solid porter, though perhaps a little dry for my tastes.

evolution-lucky-7-porter-006

When I poured it, it looked like it was very carbonated, but it was a pretty smooth mouthfeel and easy to drink. With a moderate ABV of 5.8%, it could easily start a night (since it isn’t too strong-tasting) or easily finish it with its smooth flavor and dessert notes.

Leave a Reply

