Beginnings

It’s all James’ fault. He convinced me (admittedly, it didn’t take much convincing) to start a beer blog and, so, here we are. Honestly, I’d thought about having one before. I love trying new beers and making notes on them, and have for some time – turning this into An Official Thing really only made sense.

know-what-you-drink-by-drywell

“Know What You Drink” by drywell

We were out for lunch yesterday and, over a pint, we got to talking about writing and beer and art. I’m presently in Portland, OR, visiting James and a few other friends and I always enjoy the thriving craft beer culture out here. It’s different from the beer scene back in D.C. (which is fine, no judgment here) and feels somehow warm and personable. Maybe that’s just the Oregon way, though; I could swear that people here are just more friendly and polite than they are back home.

Anyway, our conversation turned to the intersection of art and writing and alcohol. Could I somehow hit all of these topics on a writing/beer blog, he asked. Well, I was sure willing to try. And so, a day later, here we are, writing our first post. This is the royal “we,” kids – Beerily Thus is a solo project. James can go get his own (still his) idea if he wants one!

My plan for this blog is straight forward (but plans often change, as we all know): beer reviews, discussions of art/alcohol cultures intersecting, art about beer, brewery reviews, etc. But if I’ve learned anything from my years of writing (and drinking) it is that things so very rarely go according to plan. Let’s just see, shall we?

Leave a Reply

